California | Credit and Debt Law
Legal Question
My husband has racked up 40 thousand dollars of credit card debit. My name is not on the accounts. He is not going to be able to pay off these debts for much longer. I need to make sure my daughters and I are safe financially. We have a home in our names.
What can I do to protect myself and my daughters?
Legal Answer
|
Read More Answered By: Larry L. Doan |
Unfortunately, your home is community property and is potentially susceptible to being collected upon for your husband's credit card debts, even if those debts are considered his separate debts. The creditors would have to filing lawsuits against him first and then obtain judgments against him. However, if your home has less than the homestead exemption amount in equity (assuming there's a mortgage on it), then it's protected by the exemption. The exemption is $75,000 for a couple ($150,000 for senior citizens). Also, if your husband has separate property, the creditors should go after those first. It's more likely that if they get judgments against him, they would try to garnish his wages first, or go after his bank accounts, including the ones that are joint with you.
https://www.lawguru.com/cgi/bbs/attyPages/liem.html
Note: The above response is provided for legal information only and should not be construed as legal advice, nor to create an attorney-client relationship, which can only be established through payment of consideration. We do not offer free advice except for the information provided herein on LawGuru which has been screened. If follow-up advice on your specific situation is desired, we offer a paid consultation in person if you are in the Los Angeles area, or by phone or email.
|
Top Attorneys in CA
Libris Solutions - Dispute Resolution Services
Walnut Creek, CA
Questions Answered: 10416
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-26
Law Office of Robert F. Cohen
San Francisco, CA
Questions Answered: 6348
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-26
The Gibbs Law Firm, APC
San Clemente, CA
Questions Answered: 2089
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-07
www.SelikLaw.com
San Diego And Las Vegas, CA
Questions Answered: 2000
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-18
Law Offices of Carl H. Starrett II
El Cajon, CA
Questions Answered: 1888
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-09
Larry Rothman & Associates
Orange, CA
Questions Answered: 1596
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-02-27
Law Office Of Robert McCoy
Ontario, CA
Questions Answered: 1584
Last Question Aswered on: 2010-12-04
Law Offices of Jonathan G. Stein
Elk Grove, CA
Questions Answered: 892
Last Question Aswered on: 2008-10-27
Law Offices of Roy A. Hoffman
Moreno Valley, CA
Questions Answered: 823
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-04-12
San Diego Law Office
San Diego And Los Angeles, CA
Questions Answered: 593
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-23
Search Questions and Answers


