Legal Question in Credit and Debt Law in California

I live in CA am listed as a co-signer on 2 Sallie Mae student loans for my brother (lived in NY, school in MA). I remember providing info, but not signing anything. One is from 2005 and the other is 2006. I requested the promissory notes and noticed some inaccuracies in my info and contact info. Wondering if this has any legal grounds to remove my obligation. Both were allegedly signed 'electronically' so there are no live signatures anywhere.

1: First Note from 2005. Has my mothers email address and phone # in place of my actual info. Although it has one of my previous addresses. Lacks any employment info for me other than an income. Also states I "Owned" my residence when it was in fact an apartment I rented.

2: Second Note from 2006. Appears to have correct info except email address doesn't look like one I have ever used, although similar.

Any help would be appreciated and I would like to file suit if there were grounds.

Asked on 3/05/13, 10:08 am

1 Answer from Attorneys

Charles Perry Law Offices of Charles R. Perry
0 users found helpful
0 attorneys agreed

If you indeed agreed to co-sign the loans, the inaccuracies you mention do not invalidate your consent. They also do not invalidate any obligation you may have to re-pay those loans.

Read more
3/06/13, 6:32 am

Related Questions & Answers

More Credit, Debt and Collections Law questions and answers in California

Looking for something else?

Get Free Legal Advice

88273 active attorneys ready to answer your legal questions today.

Credit, Debt and Collections Law Legal Forms

Browse and download our attorney-prepared and up-to-date legal forms from $4.99

Find a Legal Form

Featured Attorneys

Anthony RoachLaw Office of Anthony A. RoachChatsworth, CA
Timothy McCormickLibris Solutions - Dispute Resolution ServicesSan Francisco, CA
Michael E. HendricksonAttorney & Counsellor at LawAlexandria,
Find An Attorney

Are you an Attorney?

Earn additional revenue and grow your business. Join LawGuru Now