Legal Question in Credit and Debt Law in California

When married, is every cash and other asset automatically legally considered "community property" or is there such thing "legally speaking" as being able to set things up as part community and part entirely individual cash and assets? I ask this question in the spirit or protecting my wife in case I was personally sued for something or had a judgement and they went after not only me but "us" because we are married.

Asked on 2/18/12, 5:19 pm

1 Answer from Attorneys

George Shers Law Offices of Georges H. Shers
0 users found helpful
0 attorneys agreed

All earnings once you are married is community property [if it were not, some husbands would designate all their earnings as private].

Read more
Answered on 2/18/12, 11:47 pm

Related Questions & Answers

More Credit, Debt and Collections Law questions and answers in California

Looking for something else?

Get Free Legal Advice

88413 active attorneys ready to answer your legal questions today.

Credit, Debt and Collections Law Legal Forms

Browse and download our attorney-prepared and up-to-date legal forms from $4.99

Find a Legal Form

Featured Attorneys

Anthony SmithLawSmithLee's Summit, MO
Michelle ScopelliteGoldstein & Scopellite, PCTucson, AZ
Barry SteinDe Cardenas, Freixas, Stein & ZacharyMiami, FL
Find An Attorney

Are you an Attorney?

Earn additional revenue and grow your business. Join LawGuru Now