California  |  Credit and Debt Law

question bubble
1/30/10, 2:09 pm

Legal Question


I am married and my spouse ran up credit card debt in his own name during the marriage. I never used his cards nor did my name appear on his cards and he did not use me as a reference to get the cards. He can't pay for the cards and we have always used separate names, had our own separate bank accounts and I use my maiden name and have never used his last name. He has been served with a lawsuit in his name only as it is his debt. Can I be held responsible for any of his credit debt that he ran up in his own name. Jenny in California


Search Past Answers:
  Advanced Search