California | Credit and Debt Law
Legal Question
NSF checks
I overspent with my credit cards in years past, and am now
in a debt repayment program with Consumer Credit Counselors
Service. This involves paying over $1,000.00 per month, to pay creditors. My car loan lender, Union Bank, has agreed to lower my car payments to $200.00 from $300.00. Even still, I borrow money from high-interest lenders each month, and bounce several checks toward the end of every month. I pay the NSF charges, both to my bank and to the creditor. My question is, can the law offices my creditors use to collect payments take punitive action against me? Would it be helpful if I sent part of the amount due, and a note promising full payment in future? I cannot pay all my debts at once, but I do want to clear my balances with everyone I owe.


