California  |  Credit and Debt Law

question bubble
1/26/06, 1:34 am

Legal Question


Do I obtain a lawyer to collect 25,000 debt from a company I provided work for?

I provide a service to the med/legal community, working direcly for defense attys & their carriers. Another agency that provides the same service I do, ordered the services of my company directly, not on a lien or through an insurance carrier, for numerous assignments over the last couple of years. At first they paid our bills on time, then slowly began to pay late and now not at all, even after several requests via letter, phone & fax and even a verbal agreement with the owner to make weekly pymts of $1000 until the balance was reduced. They continue to claim they will pay but have not paid anything for several months. I am afraid if I sue them, they will claim bankruptcy and then I will get nothing. The outstanding debt is 25,000, is that amount more suited for small claims? And is there a statute of limitations? Thank you.


Search Past Answers:
  Advanced Search