California | Credit and Debt Law
Legal Question
Overpayment in paycheck
In my December paycheck, the payroll department paid me twice accidentally. So I put in my checking account what I normally make and put the remaining balance of $1350 in my Savings account to be paid back. Now payroll is telling me that I owe them approx. $2200 due to taxes already deposited in Federal and State. That is an additional $880. I don't feel this is fair. Because of their mistake I have to pay for it? Is there something I can do? I can't afford this!


