California  |  Credit and Debt Law

question bubble
5/05/05, 5:14 pm

Legal Question


Processing Fee's

Hi, I’m under the understanding that within the State of California, retailers are not allowed to charge a fee for using a credit card as form of payment. Now if this is correct then are they allowed to call it a “Processing Fee” and charge you a surcharge to use your credit card as payment? To me it is the same thing just named differently. Is this legal?


Search Past Answers:
  Advanced Search