Legal Question in Credit and Debt Law in California

I was recently call by a collection agency regarding a debt from 12-15 yrs ago. The number they called from was a local number to me and I returned the call thinking it was someone I knew. I did verify my identity but as soon as they said what it was about I hung up. I am wondering if that is enough for them to start the clock over on collection of this debt. It is not on my credit report and I need to keep it that way.

Asked on 8/26/13, 9:29 am

2 Answers from Attorneys

Joel Selik
0 users found helpful
0 attorneys agreed

Your communication with them does not start the time frame up again.

Read more
Answered on 8/26/13, 9:36 am
John Laurie Gertz and Laurie
0 users found helpful
0 attorneys agreed

No it does not.

Read more
Answered on 8/26/13, 10:09 pm

Related Questions & Answers

More Credit, Debt and Collections Law questions and answers in California

Looking for something else?

Get Free Legal Advice

88953 active attorneys ready to answer your legal questions today.

Credit, Debt and Collections Law Legal Forms

Browse and download our attorney-prepared and up-to-date legal forms from $4.99

Find a Legal Form

Featured Attorneys

Anthony SmithLawSmithLee's Summit, MO
Rahul Manchanda, Esq.Manchanda Law Office PLLCNew York, NY
Timothy McCormickLibris Solutions - Dispute Resolution ServicesSan Francisco, CA
Find An Attorney

Are you an Attorney?

Earn additional revenue and grow your business. Join LawGuru Now