California  |  Credit and Debt Law

question bubble
11/15/09, 3:05 am

Legal Question


I recently had a levy hold placed on my bank account and 25% of my wages garnished. I never received any court documents giving me a chance to defend myself in court. I am willing to pay but I cannot afford to pay this much and take care of my family. Is there anything that I can do?


question bubble
11/20/09, 4:45 am

Legal Answer


You can file an application with the superior court in which the case is pending for a hardship exemption. Bring bank statements, pay stubs, utility bills, etc., to show where your hard-earned money is being spent.

Robert F. Cohen

Law Office of Robert F. Cohen P.O. Box 15896 San Francisco, CA 94115-0896

Other answers from this attorney
Search Past Answers:
  Advanced Search