California  |  Credit and Debt Law

Legal Question

Asked on: 5/24/13, 11:04 am

I was just served papers, that I'm being sued for a credit card debt. I don't have any money for a lawyer, I only make about 840.00 a month and my health is not good. What can I do. I have 30days for a response.

3 Answers


Answered on: 5/24/13, 11:08 am by Phillip Wheeler

Call the credit card company and ask for an extension. Sometimes they will help you out once or twice. If that don't work, consider talking to a debt consolidation specialist. They can help you out.


Did you find this answer helpful?

0 Users found this answer helpful.

0 Attorneys agree with this answer.


Phillip D. Wheeler, Attorney At Law- caonlinelawyer.com P.O. BOX 665 Morro Bay, CA 93443-0665

Other answers from this attorney

Answered on: 5/24/13, 11:10 am by Joel Selik

Consider bankruptcy, but in the meantime, figure out how to file an answer and affirmative defenses, and the form for fee waiver so you dont have to pay filing fees.


Did you find this answer helpful?

0 Users found this answer helpful.

0 Attorneys agree with this answer.


www.SelikLaw.com Box 1448 San Diego And Las Vegas, CA 92079

Other answers from this attorney

Answered on: 5/24/13, 11:44 am by Phillip Wheeler

Bankruptcy would be a good alternative too, just as the lawyer above me pointed out. Mr. Selik makes some very could recommendations if litigation actually comes into play. Listen to what he says. I wasn't aware you had already been served. Please disregard my first answer and listen to Mr. Selik. My apologies.


Did you find this answer helpful?

0 Users found this answer helpful.

0 Attorneys agree with this answer.


Phillip D. Wheeler, Attorney At Law- caonlinelawyer.com P.O. BOX 665 Morro Bay, CA 93443-0665

Other answers from this attorney

Didn't find what you were looking for? Ask an Attorney!

Get answers from the top Attorneys
Ask Question

125 Answers given in the last few hours.

8663 Active attorneys ready to answer your question

Search Past Answers:
  Advanced Search