California  |  Credit and Debt Law

question bubble
3/07/08, 11:39 pm

Legal Question


what should I do after being served a Summons Suit

What should I do after a Summons Suit was served to me for a past credit card bill.


question bubble
3/11/08, 11:12 am

Legal Answer


Re: what should I do after being served a Summons Suit

You have only 30 days to file a response to the summons. Don't blow it. Credit card companies are hoping you default. You should see an attorney ASAP to prepare a response to the complaint within 30 days.

Lisa Howard

Law Offices of Lisa M. Howard 1507 7th Street, Suite 120 Santa Monica, CA 90401

Other answers from this attorney
question bubble
3/08/08, 1:21 am

Legal Answer


Re: what should I do after being served a Summons Suit

If you don't file and serve an answer within 30 days of service, the plaintiff will take your default and get a default judgment against you. Then it could execute against your wages and/or your bank accounts. Ignore the summons and complaint at your own risk.

Robert F. Cohen

Law Office of Robert F. Cohen P.O. Box 15896 San Francisco, CA 94115-0896

Other answers from this attorney
question bubble
3/10/08, 2:35 pm

Legal Answer


Re: what should I do after being served a Summons Suit

You need to ANSWER call me directly.

James Obecian

law office san diego San Diego and Santa Monica Offices San Diego, CA 92107

Other answers from this attorney
question bubble
3/08/08, 11:15 am

Legal Answer


Re: what should I do after being served a Summons Suit

Dont Ignore. You are just compounding your problem. You need to file an answer.

Ryan P. McClure

The Law Offices of Ryan P. McClure 8300 Utica Ave., Suite 157 Rancho Cucamonga, CA 91730

Other answers from this attorney
Search Past Answers:
  Advanced Search