California | Credit and Debt Law
Legal Question
Shady lawyer trying for 3 judgements.
I hired a shady lawyer to help me through my ex-husband's probate which consisted of a house I half-owned, nothing more. Mr F. ran up his estimate of $2000 to $3000 to over $37,000 by making a bogus claim against the estate. It couldn't be paid even if we won because of prior liens, I found out later from another lawyer. He also carried on many personal conversations with his friend, the realtor, on my bill.
I'm on Soc.Sec. and told him several times he had to stop all this because I couldn't afford it.
He knew my mother owned her home free & clear and had some savings, even though she has a low income. My mother also had 2 liens on the probate house from me for thousands that I owed her over the years, which she collected when the house sold.
Mr. F. got a default judgment against me for the $37,000 because I made a technical mistake in trying to set it aside.
Now he is suing my mother and son for the same $37,000. They had no dealings or contracts with him whatsoever. He is claiming fraud, I think, because my mother collected her money from the sale of the house and she wouldn't give him any of it.
Can he sue and collect on the same $37,000 from 3 different people, whether he's claiming fraud or not?


