California  |  Credit and Debt Law

question bubble
10/31/09, 1:18 pm

Legal Question


I shared a bank account with my brother until one year ago, when he took his name off. Prior to that, we had the account together for decades, though only I contributed to it for the last few years, which is why he took his name out.

He recently got a judgment against him. Can the creditor go after the bank account? On the one hand, only my name is on it now, and I have the papers to show that he hasn't contributed money to it in years. But it was technically a joint account up to one year ago.

But even if I'm in the right and the creditor tries to go after the bank account anyway, can they freeze it before I even get a chance to show that it's really all my money? How vulnerable am I?


Search Past Answers:
  Advanced Search