If I signed a contract to purchase a used car but never took delivery, can I cancel the contract?
Answered on: 5/26/13, 6:38 am by Carl Starrett
It depends on what the contract says. A car dealer in California is prohibited from selling used vehicles priced at less than $40,000 retail to noncommercial buyers, without offering a contract cancellation option agreement. The charge for this cancellation option uses a sliding scale, starting at $75 for a used vehicle that costs $5,000 or less, up to 1 percent of the vehicle's purchase price for a car costing from $30,000-$39,999.99.
If you bough the car from a private party or a seller outside of California, then you won't have this provision.
Did you find this answer helpful?
0 Users found this answer helpful.
0 Attorneys agree with this answer.
Law Offices of Carl H. Starrett II 1941-C Friendship Drive El Cajon, CA 92020-1144► Other answers from this attorney