California | Credit and Debt Law
11/01/09, 7:30 pm
Legal Question
How can`t, i stop one company from garnishee my wags of 25%..Every pay check
How can`t, i stop one company from garnishee my wags of 25%..Every pay check
|
Read More Answered By: Robert F. Cohen |
If it's causing a hardship for you and your family, you can apply to the court for a hardship reduction or exemption. The court will set a hearing at which you will need to be present. In addition, you can try to negotiate with the judgment creditor to reduce the amount for a lump sum payment. |
|
Read More Answered By: Melvin C. Belli |
I assume they got a judgment against you and you cannot do anything to set it aside such as defective service. You can apply for exemptions if you act in the time you were allowed when you got a copy of eh notice of garnishment. If you let the time run as set forth on the garnishment then should consider bankruptcy which will immediately stop collection activities once you file but may or may not wipe out the debt depending on your circumstances. You can also use the threat of bankruptcy to negotiate a settlement with your debtor, but next time see a lawyer before they get a judgment against you and garnish your wages. Good luck and hope this helps.
|
Walnut Creek, CA
Questions Answered: 10416
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-26
San Francisco, CA
Questions Answered: 6348
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-26
San Clemente, CA
Questions Answered: 2089
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-07
San Diego And Las Vegas, CA
Questions Answered: 2000
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-18
El Cajon, CA
Questions Answered: 1888
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-09
Orange, CA
Questions Answered: 1596
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-02-27
Ontario, CA
Questions Answered: 1584
Last Question Aswered on: 2010-12-04
Elk Grove, CA
Questions Answered: 892
Last Question Aswered on: 2008-10-27
Moreno Valley, CA
Questions Answered: 823
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-04-12
San Diego And Los Angeles, CA
Questions Answered: 593
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-23
► I shared a bank account with my brother until one year ago, when he took his name...
► My husband and I are permanent RVers. We purchased a membership to RV parks a little...
► I owe about $10,000.00 to few different credit card companies. i was just handed...
► My husband had a judgment entered against him prior to our marriage. The creditor is...
► About 4 and a half years ago in 2004 I made a mistake by signing up for Cingulars...
► I was checking to see if I have a good case for small claims court? I loaned someone...
► I have been out of work for 6 months, due to anxiety attacks and depression. I was...
More Credit, Debt and Collections Law questions and answers in California| Bill of Sale | Living Will |
| Contracts | Notices |
| Divorce | Power of Attorney |
| Employment | Quitclaim Deeds |
| Landlord & Tenant | Real Estate |
| Leases & Rentals | Sales and Purchases |
| Letters | Wills |
| Living Trusts | More... |
© WebsiteBroker, Inc.
LawGuru.com | Advertise on LawGuru | Affiliate Program | Privacy | About Us | Press