California  |  Credit and Debt Law

question bubble
8/17/00, 1:04 am

Legal Question


Stop payment of check for lump sum short term loan pay off

In good faith I made a 3 week loan of $3000 to my sons mom. Her check for that amount was shortly handed to me and I held it until the check date. In the meantime she stopped payment on the check. Of course this was unknown to me and I proceeded to deposit and mess up my checking account. I intend to use small claims court to make record of the act and to attempt collection. That money is very important to me since I am currently living off IRA funds.....Do you think there will be any landmines to watch for and should I be successful??????


Search Past Answers:
  Advanced Search