California  |  Credit and Debt Law

question bubble
2/01/07, 1:15 pm

Legal Question


Student loans

I am severly defaulted on student loans that I took out when I was 16-18 and I was wondering if it was even entirely legal for me to have student loans at 16. My student loan collector Edfund tells me that if I took an ability to benefit exam at Heald college where I went to school then that means I am accountable for my loan but does that apply if I was underage? This was back in 1999-2001. I've been told that you cannot enter into a legally binding contract if you are a minor and I'd be more then happy with any advice you could provide me with.


Search Past Answers:
  Advanced Search