California  |  Credit and Debt Law

question bubble
12/12/99, 11:36 pm

Legal Question


Untrue Repossession Entry on Credit Reports

I traded my car in back in July. Trade-in value far exceeded balance of auto loan; dealer handled loan pay-off, etc., and there was absolutely no monies owed to anyone when transaction was complete.

Received copies of credit reports recently and on 2 out of 3, the car I traded in is listed as having been repossessed. The car was a lemon but I traded it in rather than sue. (M-B does not participate in the free A.G. programs.) There was definite acrimony involved and I feel as though this listing is an intentional act by MBCC.

What is my best recourse and/or potential result? I want to make it clear that the car WAS NOT repossessed, nor had there been a demand for the car, default notice, etc.

Thank you.


Search Past Answers:
  Advanced Search