California | Credit and Debt Law
Legal Question
wage garnishment
what is law state when a creditor wants to garnish wages? legally what are my rights and how long do I have
Legal Answer
|
Read More Answered By: Amy Kleinpeter |
Re: wage garnishment There is no wage garnishment without a court entered judgment. A creditor must sue you, win the lawsuit (or have it go uncontested) and then get an order for garnishment.
Garnishment is usually 25% of each check, but there are more complications to this then can be gone over in a general answer.
The answer to your question "How long do I have" would require more information and would still just be a guess. BUT if there is no lawsuit filed yet, I would figure you are very safe to think you have 3 months at a minimum. |
Top Attorneys in CA
Libris Solutions - Dispute Resolution Services
Walnut Creek, CA
Questions Answered: 10416
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-26
Law Office of Robert F. Cohen
San Francisco, CA
Questions Answered: 6348
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-26
The Gibbs Law Firm, APC
San Clemente, CA
Questions Answered: 2089
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-07
www.SelikLaw.com
San Diego And Las Vegas, CA
Questions Answered: 2000
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-18
Law Offices of Carl H. Starrett II
El Cajon, CA
Questions Answered: 1888
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-09
Larry Rothman & Associates
Orange, CA
Questions Answered: 1596
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-02-27
Law Office Of Robert McCoy
Ontario, CA
Questions Answered: 1584
Last Question Aswered on: 2010-12-04
Law Offices of Jonathan G. Stein
Elk Grove, CA
Questions Answered: 892
Last Question Aswered on: 2008-10-27
Law Offices of Roy A. Hoffman
Moreno Valley, CA
Questions Answered: 823
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-04-12
San Diego Law Office
San Diego And Los Angeles, CA
Questions Answered: 593
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-23
Search Questions and Answers


