California  |  Credit and Debt Law

question bubble
9/22/11, 2:07 am

Legal Question


I wanted to get legal advice and to seek an attorney if possible for this case. I worked for a company from 2003-2006 in the state of Michigan and while there; the company I worked for issue me a credit card. To my knowledge, when I left the company the card was at a zero balance. Now I live in the State of California and have been here since 2007. Citibank has now sued me and this case has been going on for 2 years and now the case will be on trial for the judge to decide in Nov. Can a credit card company sue me years later especially since I live in a different state and have not worked for the company in years. What can I do? I have contacted the credit card company and the company lawyers for years and even try to dispute this credit card and have been unsuccessful. The card limit was less than 2,500 and they want to sue me for 13,000 in late fees and lawyers fees; mostly late fees. Is this even legal to charge 10,000 in late fees? Is bankruptcy my best option? Can I sued the company for charging me years later, is this legal?


Search Past Answers:
  Advanced Search