California | Criminal Law
Legal Question
When i was 16 i commeted 2 felonys, I finished all of the requirments involved with having then exsponged from my recond. when i was 17 i moved to cali, met my husband, and had his baby. Recently, his X girlfireind has gotten a hold of my juvinille record, and is trying to use it against me, in a custody battle, CAN I PRESS CHARGES ON HER?.
AFFORDABLE AND AGRRESIVE
Don't call the public defender without speaking with us first!
YOUR INITIAL CONSULTATION IS FREE!
Toll Free: 1-877-52-52-9-10
Phone: (213) 612-7720
Available 24/7
Legal Answer
There is no law against telling the truth, but if you DID get your juvenile record sealed, then I don't see how she could have legally gotten those sealed juvie records. Of course, you don't disclose in what state that juvenile record was acquired, so I have no idea what their laws are on the issue, but there is little point in "sealing" a juvie record if anyone can still lay hands on them. So perhaps some crime was committed here. I don't know how she is going to use these records without disclosing how she got them. You might try contacting a criminal lawyer in the state where these juvie records sat and ask what laws would have to be broken to get a hold of them. But it is always possible that you only THOUGHT you sealed those records. So have a local lawyer check into that. More important than "pressing charges on her" would be excluding those records from evidence in the custody battle if they were illegally gotten. Good luck
Law Offices of Brian R. Dinday 165 North Redwood Drive, Ste 110 San Rafael, CA 94903
► Other answers from this attorney

