I have a 666 on my record for theft I served 2 years back in 2004. I was recently arrested for petty theft 484(a) is the code on my citation. what are the penalties?
1 Answer from Attorneys
The law recently changed. Penal Code 666 used to be petty theft with one prior. Now, it takes 3 prior (with some exceptions) before they can charge you with 666. If it's just straight petty theft, it's a maximum of 6 months and/or a thousand dollar fine. With at least two prior convictions though, the prosecutor will probably want jail time or some other punishment. It's definitely worth getting an attorney.
Related Questions & Answers
I plead guilty to pc 487(a). My sentencing has been continued a few times as I make... Asked 4/03/13, 5:59 pm in United States California Criminal Law
Two dogs of leash one bites the other whos at fault Asked 4/03/13, 4:26 pm in United States California Criminal Law
Even though the civil part of my case settled the criminal charges are still... Asked 4/03/13, 3:01 pm in United States California Criminal Law
My son was given a twety one year centese for stilling a car is that extrime. and... Asked 4/03/13, 1:06 pm in United States California Criminal Law
Filed complaint for wrongful termination/retaliation. Employer counter sued for... Asked 4/03/13, 8:54 am in United States California Criminal Law