California  |  Criminal Law

question bubble
8/08/04, 1:38 pm

Legal Question


5th Amendment - Interrogation Right Question

If someone is interrogated by Authorities during a Search & Seizure but is not

under arrest or charged yet during the interrogation, but psychologically

abused and mislead. Just under investigation, but intimidated and given false

promises and threats to scare them into talking to them. Even though that

person told them they didn't want to talk anymore and asked for an Attorney

about 10-20x, yet the questions and threats did not stop anyways. And most

of everything was recorded by the them (so there is proof). Would that person

have any arguements they could raise that the interview was not voluntary or

compentent? Enough to get it suppressed as evidence? Since that person is

now charged and facing trial? I know usually they have to have been in

custody. But if they use intimidation to scare and don't respect requests for

Attorneys and to not talk. Under the 5th it says ''no person 'shall be

compelled in any criminal case to be a witness against himself.'' And if not

possible to supress. If they take the Statements that could be taken as guilt

as ''The Truth'', shouldn't ALL the statements including the ones that show

innocence be taking as ''The Truth'' as well? Or a double standard bias on the

Truth?


AFFORDABLE AND AGRRESIVE

Don't call the public defender without speaking with us first!

YOUR INITIAL CONSULTATION IS FREE!

Toll Free: 1-877-52-52-9-10
Phone: (213) 612-7720
Available 24/7

VISIT OUR WEBSITE


Search Past Answers:
  Advanced Search