California  |  Criminal Law

Legal Question

Asked on: 9/15/01, 1:50 pm

Accusation of Stealing

My past employee accused me of stealing money from the Company. I was the bookkeeper. He was borrowing money from a friend and the friend wanted to look at his books. There are checks made out to me with the boss's signature on them. He told his friend that he did not authorize them. What they were, were loans to me and payments for materials I needed for personal use. The amount ended up being approximately 4,000 dollars. The information was on Quickbooks and the information has been changed without my knowledge. My boss also had me not enter the checks into the check register because he didn't want it on the company books. I dont have access to the Register or the Quickbooks database. Also, we were roommates, so there was never any formal agreements written. I believe it is his word against mine, except that he has all the paperwork and Quickbooks data. Is there anything I can do to prepare myself if he tries to press charges? If he does press charges and I lose what would I be looking at as far as penalties? By the way, this is a man that has not paid his payroll taxes in the last 11 years.

Thank you for your time, I look forward to a response.

Didn't find what you were looking for? Ask an Attorney!

Get answers from the top Attorneys
Ask Question

174 Answers given in the last few hours.

7528 Active attorneys ready to answer your question

Search Past Answers:
  Advanced Search