California  |  Criminal Law

Legal Question

Asked on: 9/16/13, 6:20 am

In american justice system if i commit murder, can the victim's heir or heirs forgive me and have the case against me withdrawn?

3 Answers


Answered on: 9/16/13, 7:10 am by Anthony Roach

No.


Did you find this answer helpful?

0 Users found this answer helpful.

0 Attorneys agree with this answer.


Law Office of Anthony A. Roach 9909 Topanga Canyon, Ste.313 Chatsworth, CA 91311

Other answers from this attorney

Answered on: 9/16/13, 10:36 am by Edward Hoffman

No. Criminal cases are brought by the government, not by the victim or the victim's family. The government acts on behalf of the People generally, not just those who were affected by a particular crime. Victims and their relatives do not get to decide whether or how the cases are brought, tried, dismissed, etc.

The prosecutor usually want to know how the victims and their families feel. Sometimes those feelings will influence the prosecutor's decisions. But I cannot imagine a prosecutor dismissing a murder charge because the victim's family wants her to.


Did you find this answer helpful?

0 Users found this answer helpful.

0 Attorneys agree with this answer.


Law Offices of Edward A. Hoffman 11755 Wilshire Boulevard, Suite 1250 Los Angeles, CA 90025

Other answers from this attorney

Answered on: 9/17/13, 12:42 pm by Terry A. Nelson

No.

If serious about hiring counsel to help in this, and if this is in SoCal courts, feel free to contact me. Iíll be happy to help fight and get the best outcome possible, using whatever defenses and sympathies there may be.


Did you find this answer helpful?

0 Users found this answer helpful.

0 Attorneys agree with this answer.


Nelson & Lawless 18685 Main St., #175 Huntington Beach, CA 92648

Other answers from this attorney

Didn't find what you were looking for? Ask an Attorney!

Get answers from the top Attorneys
Ask Question

70 Answers given in the last few hours.

86611 Active attorneys ready to answer your question

Search Past Answers:
  Advanced Search