California  |  Criminal Law

Legal Question

Asked on: 8/12/13, 3:58 am

My boyfrean was arested and this are the sharches pc 245a1 what it maens

3 Answers


Answered on: 8/12/13, 6:31 am by Elena Condes

A 245(a)(1) is an assault with a deadly weapon or force likely to produce great bodily injury. It's an offense that can be charged as a misdemeanor or a felony.


Did you find this answer helpful?

0 Users found this answer helpful.

0 Attorneys agree with this answer.


LAW OFFFICE OF ELENA CONDES 1010 Grayson Street Berkeley, CA 94710

Other answers from this attorney

Answered on: 8/12/13, 7:01 am by Joe Dane

He is looking at felony assault charges. Depending on how it is charged, he could be looking at anything from a misdemeanor up to a felony that is a strike and could land him in state prison.

You need a good criminal defense attorney. I'd strongly suggest you find someone who focuses on criminal law and who routinely practices in the court where this case will be heard.


Did you find this answer helpful?

0 Users found this answer helpful.

0 Attorneys agree with this answer.


Law Office of Joe Dane 850 E. Chapman Ave., Suite C Orange, CA 92866

Other answers from this attorney

Answered on: 8/12/13, 8:43 am by Anthony Roach

"Any person who commits an assault upon the person of another with a deadly weapon or instrument other than a firearm or by any means of force likely to produce great bodily injury shall be punished by imprisonment in the state prison for two, three, or four years, or in a county jail for not exceeding one year, or by a fine not exceeding ten thousand dollars ($10,000), or by both the fine and imprisonment." (Pen. Code, sect. 245, subd. (a)(1).)


Did you find this answer helpful?

0 Users found this answer helpful.

0 Attorneys agree with this answer.


Law Office of Anthony A. Roach 9909 Topanga Canyon, Ste.313 Chatsworth, CA 91311

Other answers from this attorney

Didn't find what you were looking for? Ask an Attorney!

Get answers from the top Attorneys
Ask Question

209 Answers given in the last few hours.

8662 Active attorneys ready to answer your question

Search Past Answers:
  Advanced Search