California  |  Criminal Law

Legal Question

Asked on: 7/31/13, 2:14 pm

i was caught shotlifting in walmart and they have me on camera three seperate times, What am I looking for. I also got caught again at anothe walmart taking a tube of toothpaste what does it look like fir me.Do you think I will be doing jail time,.''

conocerned citizen

3 Answers


Answered on: 7/31/13, 2:24 pm by Joe Dane

It will depend on whether they file one charge or three separate charges.

Assuming you're a first offender, I would not expect jail time, but the impact of a theft conviction on your record can be huge in the future. It's worth getting an attorney. Look for an attorney that focuses on criminal law and who routinely practices in the court where your case will be heard.


Did you find this answer helpful?

0 Users found this answer helpful.

0 Attorneys agree with this answer.


Law Office of Joe Dane 850 E. Chapman Ave., Suite C Orange, CA 92866

Other answers from this attorney

Answered on: 7/31/13, 4:20 pm by Terry A. Nelson

You are looking "for" legal help. You are going to 'get' prosecution on misdemeanor crimes that carry up to a year in jail. If a first time offender with no criminal record, your attorney may be able to get you a diversion program that will result in no conviction on your record. Even if he can't get you that, the next most likely outcome if he handles it right is a plea bargain sentence with no jail, but some fines to the court. If serious about hiring counsel for this, feel free to contact me.


Did you find this answer helpful?

0 Users found this answer helpful.

0 Attorneys agree with this answer.


Nelson & Lawless 18685 Main St., #175 Huntington Beach, CA 92648

Other answers from this attorney

Answered on: 8/03/13, 10:45 pm by John Laurie

Depends upon how you are charged and how your attorney handles this.


Did you find this answer helpful?

0 Users found this answer helpful.

0 Attorneys agree with this answer.


Gertz and Laurie 18321 Ventura Boulevard Suite 900 Tarzana, CA 91356

Other answers from this attorney

Didn't find what you were looking for? Ask an Attorney!

Get answers from the top Attorneys
Ask Question

133 Answers given in the last few hours.

8661 Active attorneys ready to answer your question

Search Past Answers:
  Advanced Search