California  |  Criminal Law

Legal Question

Asked on: 6/16/13, 10:31 am

I was charged with 459 PC Burglary (going in intending on stealing) and 496 PC receive stolen" (walking around with stolen items) because of stealing at the mall about $550 worth of stuff from multiple retailers . I'm 18 , first time offender I'm generally good kid.what steps should I take, I have no $$ for a lawyer. What sentencing I'm I looking at.

3 Answers


Answered on: 6/16/13, 2:07 pm by Lyle Johnson

At your first court appearance you should request that the court appoint an attorney to represent you. Further do not discuss this with anyone but your attorney, anyone else you talk to can be called as a witness against you. The sentence depends on the local court policy, the district attorneys policy. The minimum is probation and the maximum is state prison.


Did you find this answer helpful?

0 Users found this answer helpful.

0 Attorneys agree with this answer.


Bedi and Johnson Attorneys at Law 152 N. Third Street, Suite 550 San Jose, CA 95112

Other answers from this attorney

Answered on: 6/16/13, 9:04 pm by John Laurie

You need to ask for a public defender at the first hearing, and do not, i repeat do not talk about this to anyone other than your attorney.

This gratuitous response does not create an attorney client relationship. The advice provided herein is generic, may not apply to your circumstances and is not to be relied upon in your actions. An attorney client relationship is created only upon execution of an engagement letter or retainer agreement hiring me or my firm..


Did you find this answer helpful?

0 Users found this answer helpful.

0 Attorneys agree with this answer.


Gertz and Laurie 18321 Ventura Boulevard Suite 900 Tarzana, CA 91356

Other answers from this attorney

Answered on: 6/20/13, 3:19 pm by Terry A. Nelson

First step with no money?

Apply for the Public Defender and ask his advice.


Did you find this answer helpful?

0 Users found this answer helpful.

0 Attorneys agree with this answer.


Nelson & Lawless 18685 Main St., #175 Huntington Beach, CA 92648

Other answers from this attorney

Didn't find what you were looking for? Ask an Attorney!

Get answers from the top Attorneys
Ask Question

70 Answers given in the last few hours.

86611 Active attorneys ready to answer your question

Search Past Answers:
  Advanced Search