California  |  Criminal Law

question bubble
10/28/04, 1:34 am

Legal Question


Criminal Record for Violating Restaining Order

TRO was filed by bitter ex. Never been any violence or abuse between us and he knew I loved shooting range and was saving up for my own weapon. At hearing I admitted to court that after being served and before the hearing I called the ex twice to request the return of diamond ring and earrings I had left at his apt. That was the sole extent of contact. The judge denied the protective order but said no further calls to ex.I agreed and no further contact was ever made. Few months later at a traffic stop I was arrested for a $36000 warrant for violating a protective order! I spent 4 days in custody and in court my PD said the 2 phone calls were a criminal act. I was moving to Houston the next day and had to be released from custody. PD said to plead guilty and charge would be deferred for a year after which the charge would be withdrawn.Im a Criminal justice major and was recently denied employment due to conviction of violating a PO! How do I resolve this matter? I live in Texas and court is in L.A. Is there a motion I could file directly to the court via mail?I thought the deferment would not be a guilty conviction unless I contacted the ex during the year.


AFFORDABLE AND AGRRESIVE

Don't call the public defender without speaking with us first!

YOUR INITIAL CONSULTATION IS FREE!

Toll Free: 1-877-52-52-9-10
Phone: (213) 612-7720
Available 24/7

VISIT OUR WEBSITE


Search Past Answers:
  Advanced Search