Legal Question in Criminal Law in California

My ex-girl friend has stolen my car. When I tried to report it to the Hayward Ca. Police dept. I was told that I had to send a certified letter to her last known mailing address, wait 10 days, and if no response I could then file a report. My question is, what do I do If I don't know her last mailing address and If I did, and she didn't sign for the letter. What is my recourse?

Asked on 5/15/13, 11:35 am

1 Answer from Attorneys

Zadik Shapiro Law Offices of C. Zadik Shapiro
0 users found helpful
0 attorneys agreed

I have never heard of such a requirement, but your questions should go to the Hayward Police Department.

Read more
5/15/13, 9:41 pm

Related Questions & Answers

More Criminal Law questions and answers in California

Looking for something else?

Get Free Legal Advice

8807 active attorneys ready to answer your legal questions today.

Find a Legal Form

Browse and download our attorney-prepared and up-to-date legal forms from $4.99

Find a Form

Featured Attorneys

Anthony RoachLaw Office of Anthony A. RoachChatsworth, CA
Terry A. NelsonNelson & LawlessRiverside, San Bernardino, CA
Timothy McCormickLibris Solutions - Dispute Resolution ServicesSan Francisco, CA
Find An Attorney

Are you an Attorney?

Earn additional revenue and grow your business. Join LawGuru Now