California  |  Criminal Law

question bubble
5/22/06, 12:22 am

Legal Question


extortion

I have been charged with extortion by the district attoneys office. I sent a letter to a person who had assaulted me twice asking for damages to be paid for medical bills and lost wages and pain and suffering. I informed him if he did not agree to the asking sum that I would take legal action against him. I got this information to write this letter from a NOLO book on civil claims. My biggest problem is that I put my attorneys name on the letter instead of mine. My attorney rightfully was upset and told me she did not want to represent me further, which I agreeed. Is this extortion or just damn bad judgement on my part. Does the DA have a case against me or shouldn't the attorney be the one who would be seeking damages.


AFFORDABLE AND AGRRESIVE

Don't call the public defender without speaking with us first!

YOUR INITIAL CONSULTATION IS FREE!

Toll Free: 1-877-52-52-9-10
Phone: (213) 612-7720
Available 24/7

VISIT OUR WEBSITE


Search Past Answers:
  Advanced Search