California | Criminal Law
Legal Question
Failure to appear:dui,suspended li, 5 1/2 yrs ago...help
went to court they found a warrant for a failure to appear for a Dui, Driving under a suspended license,and having less than an ounce of pot. this was 5 1/2 yrs ago in San Bernardino.
I want to take care of this and will go to court on 8/15/01 what am I to expect? can I be Helped
AFFORDABLE AND AGRRESIVE
Don't call the public defender without speaking with us first!
YOUR INITIAL CONSULTATION IS FREE!
Toll Free: 1-877-52-52-9-10
Phone: (213) 612-7720
Available 24/7
Legal Answer
Re: Failure to appear:dui,suspended li, 5 1/2 yrs ago...help
What ever the maximum and minimum sentences are today for these offenses you can expect. Normally the D. A. wants the minimum required by law on each offense. So the first DUI is around a $400.00 fine and the school, no jail, etc. Then the other offenses should be handled the same.
This is of course assuming that you are guilty and intend to plead guilty. The D. A. is going to have a problem prosecuting these offenses if the police officer that made the arrest and/or other witnesses (if any) are not around. And of course the actual facts of the case might warrant you offers to plead guilty to lessor offenses i.e. substituting a wet reckless for the DUI.
You'll also be charged with a failure to appear, and they may want a fine of $100.00 to $200.00 for this offense. You'll be given a payment program to make monthly payments on all the various fines.
You may also want to press this matter to a trial. You should discuss the charges with an attorney. The court will give you copies of the police report(s) when you go to court.
Victor E. Hobbs 23161 Tulip Street El Toro, CA 92630-4534
► Other answers from this attorney

