California  |  Criminal Law

question bubble
10/12/09, 4:04 pm

Legal Question


My family and I live in Orange County, CA and my sister has run into some legal trouble. She is 20 years old and got in a fight with her boyfriend. She slapped him once and kicked him once with flip flops on. The boyfriend called the police and she got arrested for domestic violence.

I am wondering what directions this thing will most likely go. I know that it goes to the DA and she will find out in November but we are all extremely worried for her. What are the grounds for the DA dropping the charges and if the DA chooses not to, what could happen?

She had a squeaky clean record until now and is in college pursuing her biology degree. She plans to be a Physicians assistant. How can this effect that?


Bail Bonds - Toll Free 888-221-6663 - 3% Down

Have your loved ones been charged with a crime? Are you afraid that they may lose their job, their family and good name? HELP THEM AVOID JAIL, AVOID LOSING THEIR FREEDOM...AVOID LOSING THEIR MIND! Let the bail bondsmans of Andrew Sterling use their savvy quick skills, experience in the field of bail, and familiarity with California Courts and Jails to FREE YOUR LOVE ONES FROM JAIL.

http://www.bailbondslocal.com


question bubble
10/12/09, 4:16 pm

Legal Answer


From what you describe, she is likely to face misdemeanor domestic violence charges. (Specifically, Penal Code section 243(e)(1) - domestic battery). It carries up to a year in county jail and/or a $2,000 fine. If convicted, she must attend an anger management course of counseling as a term of probation, as well as be subject to a restraining order.

You're right - it is up to the DA to decide to file charges. It's not up to the alleged victim to "press" or "drop" charges. Since the court date is a while from now, there are things she can do even before her court date to position herself in the best possible way before court, either to get the charges NOT filed in the first place or for the best possible outcome if charges are in fact filed.

If you're interested in discussing the case further, let me know. I practice in all courts in Orange County, including West Court, where her case is headed, assuming it happened in Huntington Beach.

For more about me, please see www.joedane.com/about

Joe Dane

Law Office of Joe Dane
850 E. Chapman Ave., Suite C
Orange, CA 92866

Other answers from this attorney
question bubble
10/12/09, 5:42 pm

Legal Answer


Well, that's coincidence. I clicked on this inquiry because I wanted to urge you to be proactive in getting an attorney involved EARLY, to work on the D.A. NOT filing charges at all. I have found that early intervention is very productive in many cases. Moreover, I was going to suggest you call Joe Dane, who is in your area, only to find he has already responded. Good luck. If you succeed in getting your dismissal, you should then petition for factual innocence to get the arrest wiped off the record as well. Good luck.

Brian Dinday

Law Offices of Brian R. Dinday
165 North Redwood Drive, Ste 110
San Rafael, CA 94903

Other answers from this attorney
question bubble
10/12/09, 5:53 pm

Legal Answer


Correct. The earlier you involve your attorney, the better chance to get 'non-prosecution'. It is the policy of the DA to prosecute, regardless of the victim 'recanting' and being sorry for having the spouse arrested. You will have to convince the DA the victim refuses to testify and really does not need a restraining order or prosecution. If serious about getting legal help in this, feel free to contact me.

Terry A. Nelson

Nelson & Lawless
18685 Main St., #175
Huntington Beach, CA 92648

Other answers from this attorney
Search Past Answers: Search   Advanced Search