California  |  Criminal Law

question bubble
10/30/09, 2:16 pm

Legal Question


She filed an "Emergency Protective Order", if she persues it, Im confident I'd win because I never touched her, and was already gone when she said it happened, but it's still on my record. If anybody does a backround check while Im looking for work this may prevent me from getting a job! Is this a case for deformation of character?


Bail Bonds - Toll Free 888-221-6663 - 3% Down

Have your loved ones been charged with a crime? Are you afraid that they may lose their job, their family and good name? HELP THEM AVOID JAIL, AVOID LOSING THEIR FREEDOM...AVOID LOSING THEIR MIND! Let the bail bondsmans of Andrew Sterling use their savvy quick skills, experience in the field of bail, and familiarity with California Courts and Jails to FREE YOUR LOVE ONES FROM JAIL.

http://www.bailbondslocal.com


question bubble
11/04/09, 2:26 pm

Legal Answer


There's a lot missing from your narrative, but from what you have said the answer seems to be no. Court filings can never form the basis of a successful defamation claim, even if they are intentionally false and substantially harm the other party. You may have a claim for abuse of process, but not for defamation.

I'm sorry to report that abuse of process claims are hard to win.

Edward Hoffman

Law Offices of Edward A. Hoffman
12301 Wilshire Boulevard, Suite 500
Los Angeles, CA 90025

Other answers from this attorney
question bubble
11/04/09, 3:25 pm

Legal Answer


Since EPO's are usually entered into California's CLETS computerized records of criminal records, yes, a prospective employer could see this false accusation. The civil law does not provide any remedy for sealing up such fraudulent court files however.

The only hope you have for undoing this damage (assuming you are in fact innocent), would be if you were also arrested or detained as a result of her false accusations.

I am probably the only lawyer in California to have ever gotten a Family Court EPO docket sealed and destroyed, because Factual innocence Petitions under Cal. Penal Code Sec. 851.8 are my specialty. But nothing can be done unless the police either arrested you or detained you for questioning concerning her accusations. Then if the criminal court grants the factual innocence petition, it might be possible to seal and destroy the EPO records too, including all mention in California's Dept. Of Justice computers (which police agencies and employers resort to to check background).

To learn more about PFI's (Petitions for Factual Innocence), you can read the articles on my web site here:

http://lawyer-expungement.com/petition.htm

and

http://lawyer-expungement.com/results.htm

I'm sorry this happened, because I know from my other clients that a mere arrest or EPO can have severe consequences for the rest of a person's life. Good luck.

Brian Dinday

Law Offices of Brian R. Dinday
165 North Redwood Drive, Ste 110
San Rafael, CA 94903

Other answers from this attorney
Search Past Answers: Search   Advanced Search