California  |  Criminal Law

Legal Question

Asked on: 2/02/12, 10:34 am

is forgery still forgery if that person gets permission

4 Answers


Answered on: 2/02/12, 11:33 am by George Shers

Forgery is signing someone's name without their permission.


Did you find this answer helpful?

0 Users found this answer helpful.

0 Attorneys agree with this answer.


Law Offices of Georges H. Shers 4170 Glenwood Terrace, Suite #1 Union City, CA 94587

Other answers from this attorney

Answered on: 2/02/12, 5:16 pm by Terry A. Nelson

If you have written authorization from the owner for the specific actions you took in signing for them, then the owner could not claim forgery.


Did you find this answer helpful?

0 Users found this answer helpful.

0 Attorneys agree with this answer.


Nelson & Lawless 18685 Main St., #175 Huntington Beach, CA 92648

Other answers from this attorney

Answered on: 2/02/12, 9:31 pm by Joe Dane

No. Forgery is the unauthorized signing of someone else's name with fraudulent intent. If you had permission, it's not forgery.


Did you find this answer helpful?

0 Users found this answer helpful.

0 Attorneys agree with this answer.


Law Office of Joe Dane 850 E. Chapman Ave., Suite C Orange, CA 92866

Other answers from this attorney

Answered on: 2/03/12, 10:06 am by Anthony Roach

I agree with Mr. Dane. There is no forgery if the writing of a signature is authorized. The prosecutor must prove that the defendant acted without authority to convict for forgery.


Did you find this answer helpful?

0 Users found this answer helpful.

0 Attorneys agree with this answer.


Law Office of Anthony A. Roach 9909 Topanga Canyon, Ste.313 Chatsworth, CA 91311

Other answers from this attorney

Didn't find what you were looking for? Ask an Attorney!

Get answers from the top Attorneys
Ask Question

125 Answers given in the last few hours.

8663 Active attorneys ready to answer your question

Search Past Answers:
  Advanced Search