California  |  Criminal Law

question bubble
8/29/10, 10:14 pm

Legal Question


I found that I filed a federal claims document with erroneous information. I then corrected it and sent the corrected document in. I am concerned I originally volated 18 USC 1001. Did I?


AFFORDABLE AND AGRRESIVE

Don't call the public defender without speaking with us first!

YOUR INITIAL CONSULTATION IS FREE!

Toll Free: 1-877-52-52-9-10
Phone: (213) 612-7720
Available 24/7

VISIT OUR WEBSITE


question bubble
9/03/10, 10:19 pm

Legal Answer


It is impossible to live life without violating 18 USC § 1001. Go and sin no more.

Michael Stone

Law Offices of Michael B. Stone Toll Free 1-855-USE-MIKE 3020 Old Ranch Parkway, Suite 300 Seal Beach, CA 90740

Other answers from this attorney
question bubble
9/06/10, 1:58 pm

Legal Answer


18 U.S.C. § 1001 only applies to false statements, etc. that are made "knowingly and willfully". If your error was an honest mistake then you didn't violate the statute.

Edward Hoffman

Law Offices of Edward A. Hoffman 12301 Wilshire Boulevard, Suite 500 Los Angeles, CA 90025

Other answers from this attorney
Search Past Answers:
  Advanced Search