California | Criminal Law
Legal Question
A Friend of mine is currently in the middle of a court case involving consensual sex with a minor, who claims it was rape. Can her grandmother bring in a handwritten statement from her (not notarized) and use it as real evidence in the case?
Bail Bonds - Toll Free 888-221-6663 - 3% Down
Have your loved ones been charged with a crime? Are you afraid that they may lose their job, their family and good name? HELP THEM AVOID JAIL, AVOID LOSING THEIR FREEDOM...AVOID LOSING THEIR MIND! Let the bail bondsmans of Andrew Sterling use their savvy quick skills, experience in the field of bail, and familiarity with California Courts and Jails to FREE YOUR LOVE ONES FROM JAIL.
Legal Answer
There is no such thing as consensual sex with a minor. By definition, only adults can consent to sex. Minors cannot. Sex with a willing minor is usually called statutory rape, though California law no longer uses that term. It is also possible to commit forcible rape on a minor, which is a more serious offense.
I'm not sure what you mean by "bring in" evidence. The girl's grandmother is not a party to the case and thus cannot introduce any evidence in court. But she can share evidence with the prosecutor and/or the defense attorney. If she does this far enough in advance of the trial, they may be able to introduce it.
Whether the document you describe will be admissible will depend upon many factors, including what it says and whether it is relevant to any disputed issues in the case. Without more information that's the best answer I can give you. The grandmother may want to consult with a lawyer about what she can and should do.
Law Offices of Edward A. Hoffman
12301 Wilshire Boulevard, Suite 500
Los Angeles, CA 90025
Top Areas of Law


