California  |  Criminal Law

question bubble
8/03/08, 12:29 pm

Legal Question


Lawyer conflict of interest

I have been accused of violating penal code 245(a)(1) by my boy friends son. I had asked my Divorce attorney who also deals in criminal law to defend my boy friends son back about two years ago. When I went to my lawyer to have him represent me he indicated that he would have to wait until he received the actaul report and then indicated that he may not be able to represent me due him previously defending the person who is now accusing me of a crime. My questions is that who he defended my boy friends son has only lived with us on and off and his father and I have never been married. He never defened my boy friends son on my behalf ever how could this be a conflict off interst? He said he was not positive but would get back to me, does he know alreay or does he not know. He's been my divorce attorny for 20 years I would think he would positiviely know by now. What is your thoughts?


AFFORDABLE AND AGRRESIVE

Don't call the public defender without speaking with us first!

YOUR INITIAL CONSULTATION IS FREE!

Toll Free: 1-877-52-52-9-10
Phone: (213) 612-7720
Available 24/7

VISIT OUR WEBSITE


Search Past Answers:
  Advanced Search