California  |  Criminal Law

Legal Question

Asked on: 6/20/13, 3:47 pm

Do I need a lawyer to find out if a friend who is serving time, if his charges are running concurrently? He is serving in Georgia

3 Answers


Answered on: 6/20/13, 3:54 pm by Edward Hoffman

Your friend's sentence is a matter of public record. You should not need a lawyer to find out what it is. The information might be readily available online. If it isn't, you may be able to find out who his lawyer was and get the info from her. Otherwise your best bet may be to pay an attorney service (skilled workers who know how to find documents in court files) to get you a copy of the sentencing order. You will need to hire a service in the city or county where your friend was convicted. Services near you may be able to refer you to someone in that area.


Did you find this answer helpful?

0 Users found this answer helpful.

0 Attorneys agree with this answer.


Law Offices of Edward A. Hoffman 11755 Wilshire Boulevard, Suite 1250 Los Angeles, CA 90025

Other answers from this attorney

Answered on: 6/20/13, 8:03 pm by Zadik Shapiro

Also if your friend has a TX date (the date on which he or she should be released) that should give you some idea as to whether the sentence is running concurrently or consecutively.


Did you find this answer helpful?

0 Users found this answer helpful.

0 Attorneys agree with this answer.


Law Offices of C. Zadik Shapiro 15 Boardman Pl. San Francisco, CA 94103

Other answers from this attorney

Answered on: 6/23/13, 9:40 pm by John Laurie

Why dont you just ask him/her


Did you find this answer helpful?

0 Users found this answer helpful.

0 Attorneys agree with this answer.


Gertz and Laurie 18321 Ventura Boulevard Suite 900 Tarzana, CA 91356

Other answers from this attorney

Didn't find what you were looking for? Ask an Attorney!

Get answers from the top Attorneys
Ask Question

81 Answers given in the last few hours.

86611 Active attorneys ready to answer your question

Search Past Answers:
  Advanced Search