California  |  Criminal Law

Legal Question

Asked on: 2/24/09, 3:13 pm

(m)pc273a(b)

I received a warrant in my name with this offense what is it and what are the sentencing?

5 Answers


Answered on: 2/24/09, 3:27 pm by Solomon Chang

Re: (m)pc273a(b)

Good Afternoon,

California Penal Code section 273 deals with a parent receiving any financial value in exchange for placing a child up for adoption. This can be used in a number of contexts and I don't think we should get into the details of that online.

PC 273 is a misdemeanor in California and it is punishable by imprisonment in county jail not to exceed 1 year or a fine up to $2,500. This is the maximum penalty, however. Chances are any attorney you retain will negotiate for a plea deal with the prosecuting agency.

If you would like to discuss your case any further, please feel free to contact me at law@solomonchang.com or by visiting my website at www.SolomonChang.com

Regards,

Solomon Chang


Did you find this answer helpful?

0 Users found this answer helpful.

0 Attorneys agree with this answer.


Law Office of Solomon Chang 424 F Street, Suite B San Diego, CA 92101

Other answers from this attorney

Answered on: 2/24/09, 3:38 pm by Michael Stone

Re: (m)pc273a(b)

"Sentencing" assumes you are found guilty. I don't assume that. Please feel free to call if your case is in SoCal.


Did you find this answer helpful?

0 Users found this answer helpful.

0 Attorneys agree with this answer.


Law Offices of Michael B. Stone Toll Free 1-855-USE-MIKE 3020 Old Ranch Parkway, Suite 300 Seal Beach, CA 90740

Other answers from this attorney

Answered on: 2/24/09, 4:33 pm by Terry A. Nelson

Re: (m)pc273a(b)

False imprisonment, punishable by jail or prison time. If you're serious about getting legal help, and the case is in SoCal, feel free to contact me.


Did you find this answer helpful?

0 Users found this answer helpful.

0 Attorneys agree with this answer.


Nelson & Lawless 18685 Main St., #175 Huntington Beach, CA 92648

Other answers from this attorney

Answered on: 3/04/09, 10:07 pm by Lyle Johnson

Re: (m)pc273a(b)

It appears that the other attorneys may have misread your question. A copy of the penal code section is copied below. The code section you state has to do with child endangerment. A conviction the this section can have long term consequences. Retain an attorney immediately.

PEN 273a. (b) Any person who, under circumstances or conditions other than those likely to produce great bodily harm or death, willfully causes or permits any child to suffer, or inflicts thereon unjustifiable physical pain or mental suffering, or having the care or custody of any child, willfully causes or permits the person or health of that child to be injured, or willfully causes or permits that child to be placed in a situation where his or her person or health may be endangered, is guilty of a misdemeanor.


Did you find this answer helpful?

0 Users found this answer helpful.

0 Attorneys agree with this answer.


Bedi and Johnson Attorneys at Law 152 N. Third Street, Suite 550 San Jose, CA 95112

Other answers from this attorney

Answered on: 2/24/09, 8:28 pm by Jacek W. Lentz

Re: (m)pc273a(b)

This is called misdemeanor child endangerment. You should call around to get a lawyer. I encourage you to contact my office for a non-binding consultation.

Jacek W. Lentz, Esq.

310.273.1361

www.lentzlawfirm.com


Did you find this answer helpful?

0 Users found this answer helpful.

0 Attorneys agree with this answer.


Law Offices of Jacek W. Lentz 1055 Wilshire Blvd, Suite 1996 Los Angeles, CA 90017

Other answers from this attorney

Didn't find what you were looking for? Ask an Attorney!

Get answers from the top Attorneys
Ask Question

209 Answers given in the last few hours.

8662 Active attorneys ready to answer your question

Search Past Answers:
  Advanced Search