California  |  Criminal Law

Legal Question

Asked on: 7/27/13, 3:41 pm

can a minor be searched by police for curfew violation

4 Answers


Answered on: 7/27/13, 4:35 pm by Kelvin Green

A person can be searched if there is probable cause. Thereis not enough information to even guess.


Did you find this answer helpful?

0 Users found this answer helpful.

0 Attorneys agree with this answer.


The Law Office of Kelvin Green . California Bar #286285, CA ..

Other answers from this attorney

Answered on: 7/27/13, 4:53 pm by Terry A. Nelson

Anybody can be searched when stopped, for 'officer safety' reasons, and/or for 'suspicion of contraband or weapons'. If you are arrested, then you can worry about trying to suppress any evidence found in the search that resulted in your arrest. If serious about hiring counsel for such criminal case, feel free to contact me.


Did you find this answer helpful?

0 Users found this answer helpful.

0 Attorneys agree with this answer.


Nelson & Lawless 18685 Main St., #175 Huntington Beach, CA 92648

Other answers from this attorney

Answered on: 7/27/13, 6:08 pm by Anthony Roach

An officer can do a pat down search during a police stop, in what is commonly called a "Terry" stop and frisk. I don't know how extensive the search was, however, that you ask about.


Did you find this answer helpful?

0 Users found this answer helpful.

0 Attorneys agree with this answer.


Law Office of Anthony A. Roach 9909 Topanga Canyon, Ste.313 Chatsworth, CA 91311

Other answers from this attorney

Answered on: 7/28/13, 12:21 am by Zadik Shapiro

If the officer is going to transport the minor he/she can either search the minor for officer safety purposes or pursuant to an arrest. Mr. Nelson is correct that they search can then be challenged in court.


Did you find this answer helpful?

0 Users found this answer helpful.

0 Attorneys agree with this answer.


Law Offices of C. Zadik Shapiro 15 Boardman Pl. San Francisco, CA 94103

Other answers from this attorney

Didn't find what you were looking for? Ask an Attorney!

Get answers from the top Attorneys
Ask Question

115 Answers given in the last few hours.

8662 Active attorneys ready to answer your question

Search Past Answers:
  Advanced Search