I plead no contest to pc 496(b) in 2007 was given 180 3 years felony probation. Did not remand or do swap program. That was and is first offense. Have not been in trouble since . Is it better to turn self in or get on court calendar. What am I looking at
2 Answers from Attorneys
There is no 496(b) - I assume you mean either 496(a) - possession of stolen property or 496(d) - possession of a stolen vehicle. If it's a different code section entirely, then my answer regarding how much you're looking at might change. You're looking at being in violation of your probation and subject to additional punishment. You have 3 years (on a 496) hanging over your head. By not remanding to custody, you now face the original 180 and any additional punishment the court sees fit to give you.
My first suggestion: get a lawyer before you do anything. Contact the attorney that represented you on the original plea.
yes, have a lawyer handle it for you. Good advice, good luck!
Related Questions & Answers
After calling 911 because of a home invasion, the police arrest the bad guys and... Asked 10/25/12, 6:33 pm in United States California Criminal Law
I embezzled from where i worked at, does the employer have the right to contact your... Asked 10/25/12, 1:36 pm in United States California Criminal Law
Hello, Recently I was arrested for the following statutes: HS 11377(A), HS 11379(A),... Asked 10/24/12, 6:23 pm in United States California Criminal Law
Is 186.22 a ellement of 12022.53 (c) that must be met Asked 10/24/12, 3:43 pm in United States California Criminal Law
In California, if I am on an outdoor walkway on privately owned property to which... Asked 10/24/12, 6:26 am in United States California Criminal Law