California  |  Criminal Law

question bubble
8/28/10, 11:16 pm

Legal Question


If someone who had a prior felony of assault with a deadly weapon n faced charges of 17 to life in san Jose but served a yr and have been out on probation for the last couple of yrs in san diego, but has now been charged with 243(E) PC BATTERY:SPOUSE/ETC 4 months away from getting off probation In January.. What are their chances of violation n serving that original sentence?


AFFORDABLE AND AGRRESIVE

Don't call the public defender without speaking with us first!

YOUR INITIAL CONSULTATION IS FREE!

Toll Free: 1-877-52-52-9-10
Phone: (213) 612-7720
Available 24/7

VISIT OUR WEBSITE


question bubble
9/02/10, 11:23 pm

Legal Answer


I doubt he would serve the original 17-year sentence. Probably they would tack on 25-to-life extra for the new case.

Michael Stone

Law Offices of Michael B. Stone Toll Free 1-855-USE-MIKE 3020 Old Ranch Parkway, Suite 300 Seal Beach, CA 90740

Other answers from this attorney
question bubble
9/03/10, 10:39 am

Legal Answer


You face probation violation that could put you back in prison on the original sentence of 17 to life. In addition, that original 'strike' is a 'prior' under the 3 Strikes law, imposing a doubling of penalties on the new charge[s], that is if it is your only prior strike. If you have two prior strikes, you face 25-life on the new charges. If you are serious about hiring counsel to represent you in this, feel free to contact me.

Terry A. Nelson

Nelson & Lawless 18685 Main St., #175 Huntington Beach, CA 92648

Other answers from this attorney
Search Past Answers:
  Advanced Search