California | Criminal Law
Legal Question
Proof of Posession or Ownership
Is a reciept from a retail store which has the name of a person on the actual reciept (name only, no address or phone number) in which cash was used for the purchase leavning no checking acount or credit card information a valid proof of posession or ownership of a bag that the reciept was found in? The reciept was over 30 days old and in a backpack inside a car. During a search, police found drugs in the backpack as well and the only connection to the person arrested for the drugs was a reciept in the bag with that persons name on it. The vehicle was not in the name of the accused and there was more than one person in the car. No ID or other identifing factor was inside the backpack with the drugs. The reciept shows that cash was used for payment and the store itself requests a name when purchasing, however no ID is required for the purchase so anyone could put anyone's name on a receipt from this store. Is this enough to tie someone to the drugs and is there any precident for a situation like this?
AFFORDABLE AND AGRRESIVE
Don't call the public defender without speaking with us first!
YOUR INITIAL CONSULTATION IS FREE!
Toll Free: 1-877-52-52-9-10
Phone: (213) 612-7720
Available 24/7


