What is the punishment for 484(a)pc. The item was less than §100.
3 Answers from Attorneys
The punishment is slight, compared to the consequences of a conviction. If you plead guilty or no contest, many companies will not hire you with a conviction to a crime of theft ( a crime of moral turpitude). You should try to get the charge dismissed or reduced to a non-theft related charge. As a Former Deputy District Attorney with over 25 years of experience handling matters like yours, we have handled 100's of cases very much like yours. Contact a qualified attorney to represent you. I wish you well............David
If that is the only count you may be sentenced to six months in jail and fined up to $1000.
The maximum on a petty theft (Penal Code 484 or 488) is six months and/or a thousand dollar fine. That's not what you are likely to get - just the maximum.
Because the long term consequences of a theft conviction are far worse than the initial punishment, your goal should be (with the help of your lawyer) to avoid a conviction if at all possible. There may be legal defenses, factual defenses or other ways to avoid the conviction.
You need a good criminal defense attorney. I'd strongly suggest you find someone who focuses on criminal law and who routinely practices in the court where this case will be heard.
Please pardon any typos - posted via mobile device.
Related Questions & Answers
My husband has been charged with a felony possession charge. We have been to court... Asked 10/31/13, 9:50 am in United States California Criminal Law
If a person promises to kill someone for certain amount, accepts the payment, but... Asked 10/30/13, 1:41 pm in United States California Criminal Law
A person takes a plea deal in a domestic violence case some charges were dismissed... Asked 10/30/13, 11:57 am in United States California Criminal Law
Can i go to jail for two mistomenor domestic vilonce charges Asked 10/30/13, 8:59 am in United States California Criminal Law