California  |  Criminal Law

Legal Question

Asked on: 8/11/12, 12:26 am

What I am looking for is a real world explanation of what "Deferred Judgment" means and how it is interpreted and viewed during a Background check. what is required for disclosure on my gun permit I am about to submit for Oregon?

In 2008 I received a "Deferred Judgment" for a controlled substance in California. I completed the required classes and followed the requirements set forth by the judge. 4yrs later now, and as far as I know all is well.

My question: Am I required to disclose this juvenile mistake on the application or is it something that might be considered a non-event? Honestly, I am all grown up now and would prefer to get on with my life. Without having to recall my idiotic mistakes unless I indeed Have to.

Didn't find what you were looking for? Ask an Attorney!

Get answers from the top Attorneys
Ask Question

212 Answers given in the last few hours.

7519 Active attorneys ready to answer your question

Search Past Answers:
  Advanced Search