I was recently assaulted by someone I didn't know at a b-day party. I was hit twice by this woman. The police were called, took my statement,took pics of my face. I pressed charges for assault & battery. Have a huge black eye & jaw bone. The police didn't arrest her because she lives in another county. Police turned it over to the DA's office. If she hasn't been arrested, what is the DA gonna do for me? If it is dropped, can I sue her? What are my options? Bruised and battered in Cali - thanks in advance for any help.
2 Answers from Attorneys
The D.A. can prosecute someone even if she wasn't arrested. Many people believe that an arrest is a prerequisite for a prosecution, but they are mistaken.
What does "I pressed charges" mean to you? Are you male or female? The police do not let someone go based on where they live.
Tell us the true story.
Related Questions & Answers
Is forgery still forgery if that person gets permission Asked 2/02/12, 10:34 am in United States California Criminal Law
I was convicted of a felony in 1990 and I had it expunged a few years ago. Can I own... Asked 2/01/12, 11:14 pm in United States California Criminal Law
My neighbors home was burglarized cops came knocking on my door my son also came to... Asked 2/01/12, 11:12 pm in United States California Criminal Law
I am 12 years old, say one day I were to be attacked by two armed men and I were to... Asked 2/01/12, 9:47 pm in United States California Criminal Law
I have a question my boyfriend has been in jail for 6 years....for 6 years his case... Asked 2/01/12, 8:31 pm in United States California Criminal Law