California  |  Criminal Law

Legal Question

Asked on: 5/16/13, 2:30 pm

Is a repealed still good law? How long after a law is repealed can it be used against you?

3 Answers


Answered on: 5/16/13, 6:32 pm by Kelvin Green

Repealed laws are in effective from the effective date of the repeal. If the act happened under the law when it was valid the law can be used subject to the statute of limitations or whatever the bill states when it was passed


Did you find this answer helpful?

0 Users found this answer helpful.

0 Attorneys agree with this answer.


The Law Office of Kelvin Green . California Bar #286285, CA ..

Other answers from this attorney

Answered on: 5/17/13, 9:51 am by Anthony Roach

If you mean it was repealed by the Legislature, then I agree with Mr. Green. If the particular statute was declared unconstitutional, then I disagree.


Did you find this answer helpful?

0 Users found this answer helpful.

0 Attorneys agree with this answer.


Law Office of Anthony A. Roach 9909 Topanga Canyon, Ste.313 Chatsworth, CA 91311

Other answers from this attorney

Answered on: 5/17/13, 12:42 pm by Edward Hoffman

I agree with Mr. Roach. If the law was constitutional, it can still be enforced. It can't be *violated* anymore, but violations which occurred while it was on the books can still be prosecuted until the limitations period has expired.


Did you find this answer helpful?

0 Users found this answer helpful.

0 Attorneys agree with this answer.


Law Offices of Edward A. Hoffman 11755 Wilshire Boulevard, Suite 1250 Los Angeles, CA 90025

Other answers from this attorney

Didn't find what you were looking for? Ask an Attorney!

Get answers from the top Attorneys
Ask Question

133 Answers given in the last few hours.

8661 Active attorneys ready to answer your question

Search Past Answers:
  Advanced Search