California  |  Criminal Law

Legal Question

Asked on: 11/21/12, 7:46 pm

do i have to report my expungement for a city job?

3 Answers


Answered on: 11/21/12, 7:53 pm by Zadik Shapiro

No, but if they do a thorough record search they will find it.


Did you find this answer helpful?

0 Users found this answer helpful.

0 Attorneys agree with this answer.


Law Offices of C. Zadik Shapiro 15 Boardman Pl. San Francisco, CA 94103

Other answers from this attorney

Answered on: 11/21/12, 11:05 pm by Robert Marshall

Yes, you DO have to disclose it.

There's really no such thing as a true expungement in California. What you received was probably a dismissal under Penal Code 1203.4, which specifically requires you "to disclose the conviction in response to any direct question contained in any questionnaire or application for public office, for licensure by any state or local agency, or for contracting with the California State Lottery."

Under the definition in California Government Code 82048, all state and local government employees are "public officials."

Under the California Labor Code, PRIVATE employers are not supposed to inquire scout convictions dismissed under Penal Code 1203.4 or include them in background checks.


Did you find this answer helpful?

0 Users found this answer helpful.

0 Attorneys agree with this answer.


Law Office of Robert L, Marshall P.O. Box 7150 Chico, CA 95927-7150

Other answers from this attorney

Answered on: 11/22/12, 12:21 pm by Terry A. Nelson

It is on your record and you are obligated to fully disclose on any questionnaire or application for certification or licensing by any government agency [medical, legal, educational, professional, law enforcement, security clearances, bonding, etc], for public office, for a position as a peace officer, for contracting with the California State Lottery, or for purposes of serving on a jury. Lie about and you will be fired immediately upon them finding it.


Did you find this answer helpful?

0 Users found this answer helpful.

0 Attorneys agree with this answer.


Nelson & Lawless 18685 Main St., #175 Huntington Beach, CA 92648

Other answers from this attorney

Didn't find what you were looking for? Ask an Attorney!

Get answers from the top Attorneys
Ask Question

209 Answers given in the last few hours.

8662 Active attorneys ready to answer your question

Search Past Answers:
  Advanced Search